Roasted Jalapeno Soup

If you are ever in Texas, you must go to The Fish City Grill.  It was our big, sit down dinner stop when we drove to Dallas last month.  We visited the location in Tyler, Texas but I believe there are other locations out there.  I highly recommend it!  It was one of the best dining out experiences I’ve had in a while thanks to a very knowledgeable waitress and great seafood!

(Please forgive the cell phone photo)

They had some great fresh fish dishes, but the Roasted Jalapeno Soup was the star in my opinion. When I saw it on the menu, I knew I had to try it! You know I have that obsession with spicy food.   Here it is in all its glory:

(Yep, another cell phone picture that doesn’t nearly do it justice)

I searched online and this lady says this is the exact recipe for the soup I had.  And her picture is much better.  I bet she didn’t use a cell phone.

I tried it, with some variations since I didn’t have carrots or bell peppers or swiss cheese (I just work with what I’ve got…ha!) and it was pretty close to the original.  I’m sure if I go buy the exact ingredients and do it again it would be spot on.  But with a toddler and an instant craving for the soup, there was no time for that.

Just to prove to you that I did indeed try this, here is a picture of my roasted jalapenos.  I used the broiler in my oven.  This is the only picture because I cooked it and then I ate it without taking the time for more pictures.  I told you, I had a craving!

And yes, I used more jalapenos than it called for and I was only making 2 servings, not the 8 her recipe makes.  But the jalapenos from my garden weren’t very spicy this year so I decided to bump up the jalapeno quotient. It did not disappoint.

If you like spicy food, this is a must try.  I will definitely pull it back out in the winter time and warm up from the inside out.

This entry was posted in soup, spicy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roasted Jalapeno Soup

  1. Lonestar Jack says:

    Where is the recipe???
    Had a cup with lunch today and it was great!!!

  2. PENNY HAYS says:

    WHERE IS THE RECIPE??? WE LIVE NEAR TYLER. I WOULD LOVE THE RECIPE. THANKS, PENNY

Leave a comment